Our First Post: 10 Things I’ve picked up in my first year of Crossfit

By Hilary

Hi! Welcome to the first official post on 2 Babes and a Barbell. Since the beginning of this blog coincides with the end of my first year of Crossfit, we thought a look back would be a fun way to kick things off….enjoy!burpees

This past September was my one year Crossfit anniversary. I’m really excited for what lies ahead, but I’m also celebrating a year’s worth of accomplishments.

Over the past year, my fitness has really improved. But I’ve also learned a lot, changed, and grown as a person. Here are some of my takeaways. Some are cheesy, some are clichés, but they’re all true. So, here goes. In the past year, I’ve gotten…

  1. Some mean hand calluses and sweet bruises. Comes with the territory (and being slightly accident-prone and someone who bruises easily). Thankfully I’m not the type to get bent out of shape by a little black and blue on my legs. And a few calluses are a small price to pay for the otherwise awesome results.
  2. Clothes that fit a bit differently. Skinny jeans are um, well, difficult to get on. And once they are on, the waist is loose but the legs are, shall we say, pretty snug(#quadzilla). Some of my favourite blazers and blouses begin to cut off the circulation in my upper arms when I sit down, bend over, or reach for something. It might sound like I’m complaining, but I actually like the way I look. I’ve worked hard for these muscles, and I’m proud of them, despite the wardrobe inconveniences. Plus, my arms and legs might be bigger, but my stomach and waist are smaller, so I’ll take that any day.
  3. A new crowd of people to hang out with. It’s hard to do Crossfit without meeting some great people. There’s something about the shared suffering of pushing through a workout together that creates a bond. Over the past few months, time spent at the gym has spilled over into camping, dinners and nights out. And I’m finding it’s harder to get in and out of the gym quickly because I spend so much time catching up with everyone.
  4. A new vocabulary. The word chipper no longer means happy, but rather conjures up fear and loathing of the long workout ahead. The name Fran instantly brings to mind exhaustion and the desire to vomit. My phone now autocorrects to WOD and AMRAP.
  5. Five extra pounds. You heard that right. Despite the fact that I’ve received several compliments on how I look since starting Crossfit, I actually weigh slightly more than I did when I started (hello lean muscle). But that number doesn’t bother me like it once would have. I’m healthier now than I was in my “skinny” days, and I actually like the look of my body with a little muscle on it.
  6. Coaches that know me, care about me, and want to see me succeed. I love it when my coach knows I can go harder, and pushes me to a heavier weight or higher standard. Or, on the flip side, when I’m encouraged to go lighter to keep form. I’ve put in the time to keep showing up, working hard, and asking for help, and been rewarded with coaches that are willing to invest their time in helping me achieve my goals.
  7. A whole bunch of new skills. Being somewhat of a non-athlete, I have had to work hard to attain many Crossfit movements. But I made it my mission to conquer them, devoting time after class to extra work. I’ve still got things I want to accomplish, but I’m proud to say that in my first year of Crossfit, I’ve crossed double-unders, handstands, push-ups from my toes, and, most recently, rope climbs off my list (Literally. I actually have a list of goals in my phone that get a green emoji checkmark when I achieve them).
  8. The vision to set goals, dream big and work hard. Speaking of goals…The longer I stuck around Crossfit, the harder I worked. With all the time I was spending there, I wanted something to work for. So I talked to one of my coaches, set some goals and developed a plan to work towards them. And when I’d met most of them, we sat down to re-evaluate and plan again. Nothing is more satisfying than having a goal to work for, putting in the hard work and knowing that you made it happen. And I’ve found that goal-setting and drive has transferred outside the gym too.
  9. A whole new perspective on myself. I have told myself for my whole life that I wasn’t an athlete, that I would always be the worst or the slowest. In short, letting “I can’t” define me way more than it should have. Over the past year, I have been constantly surprising myself with how many times I can. I wrapped up my first year of Crossfit by participating in my first ever team competition. I couldn’t believe how much fun I had, and my team didn’t do too badly either. Pretty good for a non-athlete, right?
  10. A workout I actually look forward to. I used to love Sundays because it was my day off from working out. And, while I still do enjoy the rest day; I’m honestly excited to wake up Monday morning and get back to the gym. I may or may not go twice a day most days, to fit in a WOD and some lifting. At first, it was because I’m a pretty thrifty person, and like to get the most out of what I pay for. But now I can honestly say that I go so often because I just love to be there.

After one year of Crossfit, I truly believe the sky is the limit. I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished so far, and am armed with new goals going into year 2. I can’t wait to see where I am in another year.

Your turn: If you’ve been Crossfitting for a while, what would you add to this list?

Leave a Reply

