Having a (protein) Ball

Hilary here.

So I like to bake. A lot. I’ve got kind of a reputation around our gym as the go-to girl to bring cupcakes, cookies or treats to a party.

But it’s not all sugary, buttery goodness. I also like to tinker in the kitchen with healthier desserts (I’ve got a monster sweet tooth and don’t like to go a day without dessert or else I get sad/angry) and make snacks to fuel my workout.

I love having quick, easy, tasty things that I can grab before a 6 AM class (yes, I’m one of THOSE people) or pack in my bag for my commute home before an evening lifting session. I don’t love stuff that has an ingredient list as long as my arm, or the price tag that comes with buying protein bars on a regular basis.

I shared my latest such experiment with Jess, and received a string of text messages the next day:

IMG_2547So, as per her request, I am going to share the recipe with you for your enjoyment. A few words of warning before I proceed:

I am pretty comfortable in the kitchen, so I tend to “experiment”/substitute/tweak things quite a bit. I will do my best to let you know what I did, but it’s quite possible that your recipe will turn out differently than mine (and I think that’s just fine).

I don’t have exact quantities for the variation I did, but I will do my best to give you a description of what I did. Here goes…

Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy/Protein Balls

This recipe that I found on Pinterest is my base. I found it made 22 good-sized balls that are perfect for quick pre-workout fuel.

Here are the substitutions/additions I made:

I added about 2 tablespoons unsweetened cacao powder.

I also added about the same amount of protein powder (I used the Cookies and Cream from Costco, you could use whatever flavour is your favourite) just for an added boost of protein to the recipe

I used less coconut than called for, probably about half, and mine was unsweetened.

I subbed chia seeds for the flaxseed, and used about 1/4 cup.

Instead of the cherries, I used chopped dates.

I skipped the chocolate chips to avoid refined sugar, and instead threw in a couple tablespoons of cacao nibs.

I think I might have used slightly more honey than the recipe called for (I didn’t measure)…just kept adding until the mixture stuck together. Although, reading it through again now I see that I skipped the step of chilling it for half an hour before rolling – oops, that might have helped!

Another note: I have made this recipe once before using a mixture of almond butter/coconut oil instead of the peanut butter and they were also quite delicious.

There you go – enjoy! Let us know if you try making them (or any variation).

Your turn: do you have a go-to snack that you make for pre-workout fuel?

IMG_2548

 

2 thoughts on “Having a (protein) Ball

Leave a Reply

