Get after it: Goal Setting for 2015 and Beyond

IMG_2228I will start this post by saying that I (Hilary) don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions. There’s nothing gained by saying that you want to be better in such an such a way, or to give up _______ if that’s all you’re going to do. Chances are you’ll be gung-ho for a month tops, then forget about it until it’s December then you’ll feel bad about yourself for your lack of progress.

Goals, on the other hand are a different matter. I am a big fan of goal-setting. I like to set goals at the beginning of the year, but this is something you can (and should) do any time. But goals are different from resolutions. They are not hastily scrawled down at the beginning of the year. This is you thoughtfully taking the time to think about something you want to achieve, and the work it will take to get there; then developing an action plan that will lead to success.

I’m sure you’ve all seen that inspirational quote floating around Instagram and Pinterest about how a goal without a plan is just a dream or something like that. So when you sit down and think about what you want, ask yourself how you’ll get there. What will it take? Who can help you along the way?

Crossfit-wise, I take time to re-evaluate my progress and set new goals at different points throughout the year. Usually after I’ve achieved some sort of milestone or accomplishment (like after completing 100 days of burpees, or my first competition for example). It’s the perfect time to celebrate success, but then think about where you’re going to push yourself to next.

I also think the beginning of a new year is a great time to set goals for yourself. You can look back on what you accomplished in the last year (this is why tracking your lifts and WODs is so helpful) and think about the year that lies ahead and what you want to get done. I do this both in Crossfit and the rest of my life.

I highly encourage accountability when you’re setting goals. If you have a goal for yourself but don’t tell anyone else about it, then no one has to know if you don’t succeed. You can talk yourself out of it or quit at any time because there’s no one who will keep you on track. But if you know that there’s someone else who will hold you to the standards you’ve set, you’re not going to want to let that person down.

I think it’s also important to find a balance between big and little goals. On the one hand, if you set your goals too high, they can be impossible to reach and you can end up frustrated and discouraged. On the other hand, if you’re anything like me, you often sell yourself short and don’t dream big enough. I am continually surprising myself with all the things that I can do. So I think it’s nice to have a couple of big goals to work towards, along with smaller ones that you achieve along the way.

With that in mind, allow me to share with you my Crossfit goals for 2015 (Hilary here by the way, maybe Jess will share with us soon some of what she wants to accomplish). Hopefully you guys will keep me on track and I will have good news to report throughout the year and when I check back in in December.

My big goal for 2015 in Crossfit and in life is: Get out of your own way. As it applies to Crossfit, basically I know that I’ve gotten so much stronger. Often I feel like when I miss a lift or can’t get past a certain point, it’s all in my head. If I could just believe in myself and that I CAN do it, I really think I could accomplish so much more. So I hope to work at getting over that this year. I’m planning to write a series of posts on my progress in this area this year.

Other Crossfit-specific goals:

  • Unassisted strict pull-up (hopefully in time for the Open!)
  • Pistol squats
  • Deadlift 300 pounds (currently at 270)
  • Clean and Jerk 150 pounds (currently 135)
  • Snatch 100 pounds (currently 90)
  • Get better at tracking how I’m feeling after WODs. I’m really good at writing down my workouts every day, but I want to pay attention to how certain things feel so I can focus on how nutrition/life outside the gym is affecting my performance.
  • As well, keep up with clean eating in order to drop a bit more weight to help make body weight movements (especially those pull-ups) easier (I hope to write about this part of my journey in a separate post soon).

A lot of work ahead to get where I want to go, but I’m excited. I think back to where I was a year ago and can’t believe all the progress I’ve made. I can’t wait to see where I get to by the end of 2015.

So…we’re almost a month into 2015. Do you have any Crossfit (or other goals) to share? How are they going so far?

One thought on “Get after it: Goal Setting for 2015 and Beyond

  1. Pingback: Why You Should be Competing |

Leave a Reply

