Snow day!!!

So I don’t know where you are reading this from, but here in Southern Ontario, I write to you under a thick blanket of the nice, fluffy white stuff. We were hit by quite the blizzard Sunday night/early Monday morning that resulted in a snow day for me and many others.

IMG_3028

This is what the steps to a basement apartment look like after a blizzard.

My coach was kind enough to personally message me on Sunday to tell me that 6 AM Crossfit was cancelled (he knows me so well…Hilary at 6 AM is pretty much a forgone conclusion) in addition to the post on our gym’s Facebook page. I figured no problem, if I’ve got the day off, I’ll just go to the 9 AM class, right?

So, ever the intrepid Crossfitter, I bundled up, grabbed my gym bag, and headed out the door. I decided that since I live reasonably close to the gym, walking would be the better option as I didn’t know what road conditions were like and I figured that by the time I shoveled off my car and got out, I could’ve just walked anyway.

After about 25 minutes, I made it to the gym. The parking lot was shoveled, but no one was there. I checked my phone – 8:54, I guess I was a few minutes early. Then I decided to check Facebook – apparently WHILE I WAS WALKING, the gym had posted that 9AM and noon classes were also cancelled…nooooo!!!!

That’s when Breanne showed up. I gave her the bad news. She had driven over 20 minutes to get there. We were both disappointed. She was going to head back to her apartment and maybe do a workout in the teeny tiny gym there. I was going to go drop in on my sister for a visit. She took pity on me walking in the snow and offered a ride.

*I will interject here and say that previous to Monday, I didn’t really know Breanne. She was one of those “I’ve seen her around the gym and would say hi,” but not much more than that type of people to me. Yet another reason why I love Crossfit – common bond that is always bringing people together. …now back to my story.

On the way to my sister’s, Breanne said she probably wouldn’t work out if she was alone. Then I got thinking and said “what if I came with you and we made our own little WOD?” IMG_3038

So, off we went. We warmed up a bit on the treadmill (working around the adorable senior citizens getting in their workout for the day). In the tiny (very overheated and poorly ventilated, I might add) gym of her condo building, I looked at the space and equipment we had and McGuivered together what I called the “Cabin Fever WOD:”

15 min AMRAP

  • 10 burpees
  • 10 dumbbell snatches per arm (25#)
  • 10 mountain climbers per side
  • 10 dumbbell goblet squats (25#)

I’m not sure if it was just that it was insanely hot in there (I swear I’ve never felt so dehydrated), or the fact that I was a bit sick and coming off a weekend where I didn’t sleep a lot, but that WOD felt HARD! There were definitely a few times when I thought about suggesting we cut it to a 10 minute AMRAP. But once again, the strength of Crossfit and working out together prevailed, and I stuck it out to the end.

I would’ve called it there, but Breanne wanted to do some abs, so we settled on two rounds of core tabata: one round of planks, and then another of alternating dumbbell situps and Russian twists. Again, because I was working out with a buddy, I pushed myself and did more than I would’ve had I been on my own.

After we were done, I chugged a ton of water, Breanne shared a couple of Paleo lemon blueberry muffins with me, we stopped and had delicious but overpriced smoothies at a place she loves but I hadn’t tried, and then she drove me the 20 minutes back, out of her way, and dropped me off at my sister’s!

The morals of the story?

You can always fit in a workout. Even if I hadn’t done the Cabin Fever WOD with Breanne, just walking to and from the gym in a blizzard is not too shabby. If you want to do it bad enough, you can find a way (PS: This WOD would be perfect if you are traveling and only have access to a hotel gym). If you wanted to do this WOD at home and don’t have a dumbbell, substitute the snatches for a bodyweight exercise like pushups or situps, and just do air squats. Boom! You just got yourself a no-equipment, no-excuses do-anywhere WOD.

Crossfit is always bringing people together, even when the gym is closed. Had we not had this snow day experience together, Breanne and I probably would have remained the “just say hi” type of acquaintances at the gym. But now that we have this shared experience, who knows what we will tackle next! I love how Crossfit brings people together who might not otherwise have a chance to meet. Breanne is just one of the many friends I’ve met in the almost year and a half since joining my gym.

So next time there’s a snow day? Think outside the box. Make a new friend. Walk in the snow, shovel a bunch, or McGuiver a workout. It might just turn out to be a pretty awesome day.

Leave a Reply

