Magnificent Monday: 6 Happy Crossfit Happenings

Happy Monday all. Hilary here. I couldn’t think of a more creative title (sorry)…this is just going to be a quickie little post for you with some happy Crossfit happenings in my world of late.

1. I signed up for another competition. UG Series Beach WOD will take place in July in Wasaga Beach, Ontario. Jess is in a wedding that day, so won’t be alongside me. So far my team is only 50% finalized, no guys confirmed yet, but I’m not worried. I’m pumped for another comp, although this one has a lot of gymnastics, so I’ve got my work cut out for me over the next few months….which ties in to point # 2….

2. I’m helping my friend/teammate work on rope climbs this week. Me! The girl who started out hanging from the rope with the help of a band and took almost 5 months of work to get a rope climb (no joke). Who would’ve thought? I know this is not particularly a big or exciting story, but for me, it’s a moment where I can be proud and look back at all I’ve accomplished (I still need to practice my rope climbs though, not exactly my strongest skill, particularly if I’m gassed out from a WOD).

3. I competed in an in-house pairs competition this weekend at my gym (see photo of IMG_3100me during WOD #2). There were 26 teams, and my partner Jacob and I finished right in the middle, so I was pretty happy with that (knowing the strength of some of the top teams). WOD #1 SUCKED – each partner had to complete 1-10 Wall balls and burpees. The general consensus of fellow competitors from Saturday? Ascending ladders SUCK. They are sooo mental. You get to round 5 and you’re like, “oh, I’m halfway done.” And then you think about the increasing reps and it’s like “oh crap, no I’m not.” The last few rounds are awful. Enough said.

I LOVED WOD #2 though. Each partner had to complete a 5 minute AMRAP of 5 shoulders to overhead (75# for girls, 115# guys), 10 deadlifts at the same weight, and 15 box jumps. I switched to step ups before I even finished the first round of box jumps because I quickly got the sense I would gas out quickly. It was a good call. Favourite part of this WOD was that I was staring my friend, and teammate for last month’s comp, Ed, in the face the whole time…and then I passed him on the last round. 😉

All in all, a super fun day with a great group of people…and some fun shenanigans later on!

4.terrified_face_by_graphic_jay-d36ebeq The Crossfit Open starts this week. And I’m signed up. See face at left for a summary of my thoughts on the subject. Actually though, I’m pretty excited (at least that’s what I tell myself amidst moments of terror). Stay tuned for post-Open WOD posts detailing how it went down. Which leads into point #5….

5. I took the Crossfit Judges’ Course online last week. I figured, “what the heck, as much time as I spend at the gym, I don’t mind helping them out a bit.” I also read an article saying it’s totally worth the $10 just to learn more about proper form, technique and movement standards (which I agree with). Some of it was HARD! I had to watch the squat and muscle-up video tests more times than I care to admit to finally correctly identify all the reps/no reps. If you’re doing the Open or competing – be kind to your judge, even if you disagree with him or her. It’s a tough job! (speaking as someone who’s judged before).

6. And finally…my church is doing a series of “Wellness nights” on different subjects. One is about physical fitness…I’ve been asked to speak about Crossfit, my experience with it, and how it’s changed me! Again, maybe doesn’t seem like a big deal, but it sure is to me. If you had told this former “fat girl in gym class” that I’d be a speaker at an event like this, even just a few years ago, I’m not sure I would have believed you. It’s not until the end of March but I’ll keep you posted on what I say/how it goes.

What about you…any exciting Crossfit (or other) news to share?

 

Leave a Reply

