Meanwhile, during the Open

The 2015 Crossfit Open is over. So, as promised, I am writing about something else. Several somethings else, in fact. You see, there was lots of other great stuff going on during the Open. But, I wanted to be like all the cool kids and talk about the Open, so I’ve been keeping this stuff to myself for the last 5 weeks. No longer. I’m happy to share that…

pullup1. I GOT MY FIRST STRICT PULL-UP. Yep. It happened. It’s a thing. That big CrossFit goal I’ve been working on for a year and a half. The thing that almost had me in tears after 15.2. Cross that one off the bucket list. (This was the teaser from last week’s post).

The cool thing is that it happened the very last Friday of the Open. I had made it a goal to get a pull-up for the Open, and, after 15.2 pretty much resigned myself to the fact that it wasn’t gonna happen. Well, it may not have happened in time to post an Open score, but before the 2015 CrossFit Open was finished, I had a strict pull-up in the books! ๐Ÿ™‚

I will write an entire post on it soon, but let’s just say it was a pretty awesome moment, one that will likely go down in history as one of the best ever in my CrossFit career. There were some wild leg flails, a lot of cheering, hugs, and high fives. Yeah, it was great.

IMG_31702. I bought a speed rope. I finally broke down and did it. A GGW podcast finally put me over the top. Our relationship has been a little rocky, shall we say. At first, I was instantly smitten. I tried it out, hit a bunch of DUs way easier than I thought I would (I was expecting it to be harder to adjust to the new rope) and that was that. But then I threw it back in my gym bag, it got really coiled up, I tried to use it in a WOD, and things got ugly.

After that, I left it hanging in the gym to iron out those kinks (that’s still where I keep it). I’ve been practicing, getting more used to it, and things have been improving. One thing it’s NOT good for? Regular skipping. Remember 15.3? Yeah, at coach’s suggestion I had to sub it out for a standard plastic rope mid-WOD. A speed rope is just too light if you’re not doing those fast dubs. It kept getting all coiled and tangled up due to the slower rhythm of those single skips. Lesson learned.

I’ve also been working at making my double unders/skipping more efficient lately. The thing with me and DUs is that it’s not that I can’t do them. I can. I devoted months last winter/spring to getting them down. And I can double under, and consistently get anywhere between 30 and 60 unbroken. But I just use way to much energy and gas out really quickly. I’m stopping not because I can’t do more, but because I’m just too tired. Something about DUs, I just tense up and then it’s not a good scene. So I’ve taken to making myself do two sets of 50 as part of my warmup when I come in to lift. Slowly but surely, we’re getting there.

3. I gave my first “Crossfit talk.” Remember how I mentioned that I was speaking at my church a while back? That happened a couple weeks ago. I was super nervous going into it, and worried that I might bomb/be really boring/not be good at it. But once I sat down and firmed up my notes, and went over what I was going to say, I started getting more excited. And once I got up there, I wasn’t even really that nervous. It was a cool opportunity to talk about something I loved in front of an audience who wanted to hear from me, and actually something I hope I can do more of. Nicer still? A friend from out of town saw my post on Facebook about the event, came to hear me and took me out for dinner! ๐Ÿ™‚

4. I got a new job. Now, you may be asking yourself why I’m sharing this in a post about CrossFit. Well, it is an important life event. But the cool thing is that I was at the gym when I found out. I went out back to take the phone call, since I couldn’t hear anything inside. Jenn came out to see what I was doing (because people generally don’t hang out in the back lot). She knew about my job interview so I mouthed to her “I got the job.” Then, when I went back in, I was greeted by cheers, hugs, high fives, and congratulations all around. Such a great moment. I love my CrossFit family.

5. Jess bought a house (and we celebrated 4 and 5 plus the littlIMG_3175e babies with dinner, drinks, (Virgin Caesar for Jess) and dessert). I had March Break, so we went on a fun girls’ day of shopping (most of my pants are too big these days…more on that to come) and Jess needs new clothes (for other reasons. ;)). Then we wrapped things up by treating ourselves to dinner at the Keg (and if you tell them you’re celebrating, dessert is free – score!).

6. I made it on our gym’s leaderboard for a couple benchmark WODs. IMG_3192

I’d been meaning to re-do Fight Gone Bad for some time. I did it for the first time in the summer and made it on the leaderboard in 5th place with 243 reps, but my score didn’t last and I was edged out by someone with only 10 more reps than me. Plus, I actually kind of like the WOD and didn’t feel super terrible after so I was hungry to try again.

So, like any good CrossFitting teacher would do, I made a date to do it with a friend on my week off for March Break. I had a goal to beat my last score and as you can see, I managed a 40 rep improvement! I was stoked. Next time, over 300 for sure!

Our gym also did Grace last week. I wasn’t going to do it, as I had already done the early morning kettlebell WOD, but I’d also had this one in my sights for some time, as I had never done it RX. 4:52 and #5 on the leaderboard…I’ll take it! Special thanks to Diana for cheering me on and pushing me through. I didn’t even pace that well so I know I can do better next time.

7. I finally PR’ed my strict press! It is the only lift where a 3 pound PR after 6+ months stuck at the same weight can make me so incredibly happy. Strict press can be just. so.frustrating. Am I right?

Finishing the Open, the pull-up, strict press PR, and Grace time were all within one week….definitely the best CrossFit week I’ve had in a while. ๐Ÿ™‚

Your turn: what’s your latest and greatest Crossfit news? What have you been up to since the Open has finished?

3 thoughts on “Meanwhile, during the Open

  1. Hi CF Online buddies! Love the blog! I also recently got double unders (although they are still pretty hit or miss). It is a great feeling. I am working towards competing in my first CF competition this summer so I am trying to get increase my engine so I can get through WODs quicker.

    Like

    • Hey! That’s fantastic that you’ve mastered the double under! Keep it up- practise makes perfect. Wishing you all the best at your comp this summer, please let us know how it goes for you!

      Thanks for following our blog- we love hearing from fellow crossfit ladies!

      Xo Jess and Hil

      Like

Leave a Reply

