As Seen in 2016

As of this post, we are 11 days into the New Year. As promised, I will share my 2016 goals with you soon…but not today. In only a week and a half, there’s already been lessons learned, cool stuff happening, and reflections made. Enough to merit a post of their own. So enjoy my New Year’s revelations (not to be confused with resolutions) and I’ll be back with goals in the weeks ahead.

So, 2016 started on a high note for me…by RX’ing our gym’s baseline WOD (one of Jess’s favs – 500 M row, 40 squats, 30 sit-ups, 20 push-ups, 10 pull-ups) for the first time ever! 🙂 They always host a charity team workout New Year’s Day to raise money for a local charity for at-risk youth. This year the first part of the WOD was a relay of the baseline.

I did baseline on my very first day ever back in September 2013, and have done it a few times since, but not lately, and certainly not since my push-ups have gotten so good or I’ve been able to bust out a few kipping pull-ups. I looked a the clock when it was my turn to go so I’d have an idea of my time, then I went for it. The pull-ups were mostly singles, and not beautiful by any stretch, but hey, I got it done. Better still were the high fives I got from all the coaches and then the applause from everyone when the workout was done. I was so pumped. Talk about starting the year with a bang!

Then, I had to go back and re-read this post I wrote a year ago and remind myself to chill and not be so hard on myself. An amazing 2015 ended not so amazingly with a pretty serious bout of Christmas Day stomach flu. After being so sick, I had to take several days off of the gym because I was so weak and depleted. Then, the week after Christmas, I decided to eat double because I had been sick and could eat barely anything for a few days and missed out on some tasty Christmas eats.

Hmmm…almost a week of being sick, then a week of eating whatever the heck I wanted. You can probably guess how the first week back after that felt. Ugh. The thing was, I wasn’t even doing all that terribly at everything. I managed to get one of the top scores for our contest of the month (because it involved KB swings. Obvi.) And on a shoulders to overhead (my fav) and burpee workout, I think I was one of the top scores of the day. I just got myself mentally in a pretty bad place.

Note to self (and readers): Repeating “sucky suck suck” about yourself and your WODs over and over again in your head doesn’t help. At all. To cap it off, I gained back the weight I had lost from being sick and then some. Ugh. Again.

But this is where being a person who is constantly (some might say obsessively) logging WODs and weight comes in handy and really helps regain perspective. Yes. Maybe I overdid it and packed on a few pounds. But I looked back and my heavier post-holiday self is still 12 pounds lighter than last year’s version. It will come off.

And, newsflash: I don’t suck at everything. Even a week of less-than-amazing feeling WODs are still miles ahead of where I came from, or from the people who aren’t doing anything at all. And after Saturday’s partner WOD where I pushed it real good and carried our team at the end (overhead barbell holds while my partner struggled with snatches), I finally was like, “Oh yeah. I love this feeling. And I don’t suck at CrossFit.”

On a related note, it took my week-long New Year’s funk to make me realize again why I CrossFit and choose to eat a healthy diet. It’s not because I hate myself. It’s not a punishment. It’s not because I should. It’s not to lose weight or look a certain way. It’s because I really like myself. It’s because it’s fun. It’s because it’s where my friends are at. It’s because I love the feeling of working harder than I ever thought possible, then seeing it pay off and amazing myself. It’s because when I eat a healthy diet, I feel fueled and nourished and my body can do incredible things.

Oh, and there’s the fact that the Open is a little over 6 weeks away. Gulp. How the heck did that come up so quickly? Here we go again… In addition to the fact that our gym is programming a plethora of gas tank-depleting WODs to gear up for it, I also made the mistake of asking my coach to include Open prep for me in addition to my lifting program. Never again. If you read in a year from now that I plan on asking for Open prep, please reach out and stop me (Kidding. Sort of).

I haven’t decided yet if I’ll be amazing at the Open or be dead by then. One week in, it’s too early to tell. These Open prep mini WODs are TERRIBLE! Example: max set of back squats at 70% (I got to 20 reps). Rest a minute then 150 double unders for time. Slowest double unders of life!!!! Mind you, as seen above, I wasn’t feeling amazing last week. So I’m hoping at least things will get a little better, but I’m anticipating a kind of butt-kicking suckfest (in the best possible way) for the next 6 weeks. Hopefully it pays off.

In case you didn’t know, Jess is kind of a CrossFit celeb now. Have you seen this video about the Open? Go to 2:16 and see her big feature.

I also received one of my favourite pieces of gym feedback ever last week: I was gave a friend advice on double unders (practice a little bit every day, and try at first doing two singles skips, one DU, 2 skips, 1 DU…). A few days later he came up to me, said he tried it, and got the most DU he ever had! Hearing that totally made my day (thanks Matt- and way to go). Moments like that are one of the best parts of CrossFit, and great reminders that there’s more to success and victory than just hitting PRs all the time.

And, last but not least, in the first week and a half of 2016, I’ve been reminded anew of how awesome my gym and the people that make up our community are. I’m moving in a few weeks, and gym friends have been great about offering me boxes, a leather chair; and of course, help with the move. There was also last weekend’s fantastically fun holiday party at a local ping pong bar co-owned by one of our members. I take all my gym friendships for granted until I mention the party to a coworker and get asked “Your gym is having a Christmas party?” Oh yeah, I guess amazing friendships and great parties are not part of the typical gym experience. I can’t say it enough: love my CrossFit family.

Phew! Writing all that, it’s been a busy start to the year, and quite the emotional rollercoaster. I’ve run the gamut from huge Crossfit victories to celebrations to suckfests – and it’s only been 11 days! At this rate, 2016 is going to be quite the year – stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

